Bowsprite

snow shoes

Posted in Uncategorized by bowsprite on 2016/01/24

bearbeaver

I love snow shoeing. It is liberating, meditative, calming.

Make your own snow shoes, lacing instructions here. During off-snow seasons, add beads or feathers, hang in window as a dreamcatcher.  (Here, traditional wins over new technology.)

Lash together an emergency pair:

JHbearpaw

johnhudsonsurvival.com

Or, use old tennis racquets and bicycle inner tubing.
When not in use, use to strain pasta. (Remove rubber tubing.)

pastaserveJack Lemmon & Shirley Maclaine in The Apartment. He is really good with that racquet.

Snow shoes are amazing. I walked in deep Engadin snow, with and without.
Results from the testing department:

• without snow shoes (pink line) – choppy, exhausting, halting walk. I quit rather quickly.

• with snow shoes (green line) – off to S-Chanf!

snowshoetest

 

And now, Jonas heads our way…
Be safe, be well, Everyone, post- and pre- storm. Lace up and happy wandering.

Meanwhile, at sea (seemingly less and less far away):

last week, Tropical storm Alex made landfall. a very rare January Atlantic hurricane.
For those at sea, hope you missed this.

building now: North Pacific Hurricane Force Storm. “…with winds forecast 50-70 knots and seas building to 14 meters (over 45 feet) between 35N-42N latitudes in the main shipping routes.” — Fred Pickhardt, Marine Meteorologist

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. paul drouin Gmail said, on 2016/01/24 at 19:11

    Hey Christina!!

    Comment va??

    I love snowshoeing too!! We have a group that goes out twice a week here in Quebec 😉 Here was my last outing with them – lots of climbing!! https://www.strava.com/activities/472801103

    Paul

  2. Shelly said, on 2016/01/24 at 19:51

    We can use a pair in BPC..come home already!!!

  3. Rembert said, on 2016/01/25 at 06:32

    He didn´t work like a professional. There were so many hints. But none of B.´s countless friends wanted to admit themselves, that “Bowsprite” obviously is a covert name. Let´s face it: B. isn´t just another american in Switzerland, but a swiss agent in America!

    Or is there any other reasonable explanation for let him find his readers out, that they need this (his) tool to make self-made snow shoes work?

    At least, if you want to catch dreams of Matterhorn. And not of being condemned, to fix IKEA – furniture in hell with a nail file.

  4. mageb said, on 2016/01/29 at 16:56

    I do love that last note. None of my
    Swiss Army knives have that many tools. I feel bereft.
    Yes, those snow shoes should work well on sand here too. LOL
    Did I ever mention that I have a granddaughter growing up in Barcelona?

    • Rembert said, on 2016/02/02 at 10:31

      The old wisdom of less being more applies to Swiss Army knives. Any of those tools is difficult to handle, because it is protruding from a massive bar of steel. And weight plus volume make a rucksack for transport inevitable. I suspect, that some of my orthopedic problems stem from that chunk, I purchased at the age of nine or ten and carried around with me day and night. Other boys admiration at that time doesn´t compensate for suffering in later years…

      After reading please destroy.

  5. billcanoe said, on 2016/02/06 at 15:23

    We made mast hoops for SPIRIT from grape vine. Prolly make pretty good snowshoes. What size do you wear?

    • bowsprite said, on 2016/02/09 at 18:46

      hmmmm. Can I try other things from that grape vine? you press any vino?
      I want to come down and see SPIRIT! I still have my plank owner certificate. That’s the ticket to get into the tikki hut happy hour, right?

  6. Bonnie K. Frogma said, on 2016/02/10 at 19:22

    Hey, you’re blogging! Where have I been? 😀

    Note to self: get some binding put on the snowshoes in the closet on of these days.

  7. tugster said, on 2022/01/30 at 13:42

    now I know why I missed this post . . I was sailing in the Caribbean trying to catch bioluminescent critters with my dreamcatcher. lovely post. love the with snow shoes and without annotations.


Leave a comment