Bowsprite

veterans day & tea towel for the engine room

Print your own fabrics! re-upholster your bunk, make cool pillows, and frame your porthole with your own designs!  Spoonflower, is a site based in Durham, North Carolina that prints your designs at their ‘mill’. Read more about them here.

In honor of Veterans Day (today: 11.11.11) they just held their military fabrics contest which I missed, but inspired me to make a tribute fabric anyway. (I never knew the symbolism of poppies until this contest.)

The Ships Ahoy Tea Towel calendar is now available! The fabric measures 21″ long by 18″ wide, but the edges are raw and will need to be finished:

All ships are denizens or frequent visitors of NYHarbor, and run on their own power. I love our historic vessels, but will save those for the Dead Ships Dinner Napkins series.

Here are past Bowsprite fabrics. I am going to do one with egrets and booms, a la Tugster! Have an idea for a fabric? drop a line!

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tugster said, on 2011/11/11 at 16:48

    hey . . i like it. maybe you could design some tugster teeshirts for next year’s sixth boro seafarer styles symposium . . . the sixth boro’s contribution to 2010 NYC fashion week? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_York_Fashion_Week

  2. mthew said, on 2011/11/11 at 16:57

    Ah, the old Lightship Nantucket! Sentimental about her, since I graduated from Nantucket High School.

  3. Michael said, on 2011/11/11 at 17:45

    Just egrets! I love egrets. I don’t love booms (for controlling spills). I would not want my tea cup to touch such a boom, but an egret! Very much yes! I love egrets.

    Egrets please.

  4. Mage Bailey said, on 2011/11/11 at 18:19

    Imagine a powerful poppy towel with the riot of color overflowing everywhere. Perfect for us vets. Thanks for the note. Hugs to you.

  5. o docker said, on 2011/11/12 at 02:51

    Love the CG fabric. On a quilt, it might make a nice border print.

  6. Koops said, on 2011/11/12 at 19:09

    Beautiful again, Christina. I have performed my duty and voted as my conscience dictates…

    😉

  7. Caitlin Rosen said, on 2011/11/15 at 22:54

    Hi Christina, I just discovered your blog and lost an hour… thank you for all this nautical illustrative goodness. I’m looking forward to following along.
    Caitlin

  8. Lifecruiser Travel said, on 2011/11/18 at 17:45

    Wow! I’m really glad I came over here from Vagabonde’s blog! So much “goodies” in shape of boats. Fantastic! I haven’t seen many similar blogs so this was a very nice surprise indeed. We love boats ourselves, but are no experts in the area, just genuine boat loving bloggers 🙂

    We have a lot of boat photos at our blog and other Sea related photos. It’s something special with the Sea… We live in Sweden and have the Baltic Sea as the nearest sea. We spend the summertime on an island and naturally we’re close to the sea since the island is rather small, so we see a lot of smaller boats.

    I’ll be back another time… You really have plenty of great posts to read here!

  9. Michael said, on 2011/11/26 at 14:54

    Egrets are still in demand.

  10. […] *Bowsprite* Leave a Comment Name: Required […]

  11. […] *Bowsprite* Leave a Comment Name: Required […]

  12. Michele said, on 2011/12/22 at 09:09

    Bowsprite! My tea towel has arrived and it is *gorgeous*!

    Throughout you blog, your light touch and use of color for these huge “beings” (and their equipment/parts) always brings a smile to my face, even as I learn a bit more about the Marine World.

    By offering the towel, the ‘smile’ is in my own kitchen. Thank you. 😉

    (You’ve also given me a fun gift for friends who have moved away from NY and the Sixth Boro!)

    Again, thanks so much for making your drawings available in this way.
    Michele


Leave a comment