Bowsprite

Posted in Uncategorized by bowsprite on 2010/04/17

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tugster said, on 2010/04/17 at 11:20

    panoramic! map of the known world. bartholdi’s waving creation AND the sixth boro as the center of the universe… as observed from 10,000 feet up a lawn chair towed by a cluster of left-over openhouse balloons. but please don’t cut queens completely out of the pic . . . more: my two favorite captions are : east river thru my tired eyes looks like easy river, and (historically accurate to a time pre-dating the American Revolution) the meadowlands appears to be occupied by the military. woohoo …. i love this so far.

    • bowsprite said, on 2010/04/17 at 15:41

      egads. did I really leave QUEENS out? hm, how ever did THAT happen, i wonder???
      thank you! This is a work in progress. I’ll put it in (with a star over your casa!)

      • bowsprite said, on 2010/04/17 at 15:45

        ps–you like ‘tic highlands’?

  2. Mage B said, on 2010/04/17 at 13:45

    I love it. My simple hook shaped bay is not your convoluted string of rivers and kills and delight. I’m left to ask the question, why are there not bridges over the North River into New Jersey. Then again, I live in a city with one singe bridge. 🙂

    • bowsprite said, on 2010/04/17 at 15:44

      egads again! I left out the George Washington Bridge!!! but that is the only one we have crossing North/Hudson River from Mannahatta.
      I do have a lot of work to do on this chart, yes!

  3. tugster said, on 2010/04/17 at 15:56

    i immediately thought of saul steinberger’s newyorker: http://www.newyorkerstore.com/Steinberg-Collection/New-Yorker-Cover-3291976/invt/124544

    but with a bowsprite flair. the sixth boro is half a planet, right; this makes me want to see what’s on the darkside of the planet.

    unrelated: with the exception of bartholdi’s waving woman, your map shows NO human additions. except the bridges, which don’t look like bridges. if yer doing bridges as passageways, maybe do tunnels too?

    i know . . . everyone’s a critic. sorry. just freeassociating with yr work.

  4. O Docker said, on 2010/04/17 at 18:56

    My first thought was the New Yorker cover, too. I was thinking maybe, “A New Jerseyan gets even with the New Yorker.”

    I guess I would have put a cactus and cow skull somewhere around 23rd and 6th.

    Let us know when it’s ready to be used for navigation.

  5. tugster said, on 2010/04/17 at 20:57

    a request: if yer doin iguanas, could you do a parrot over queens, a few random rats here and there, and some marimammals in the sixth boro.

  6. Baydog said, on 2010/04/18 at 01:02

    O Docker: I’m really starting to believe that you’re a freakin mush when it comes to New Jersey. It’s really endearing to me; I’m getting verklempt. Go ahead, talk amongst yourselves… I’ll give you a topic. We are all on the same page regarding the New Yorker sketch. That is the absolutely first thing I thought of when I saw Christina’s map. It reminds me of myself and my desire to make drawings as accurate as possible. I live about a half mile north of the Pennsylvania spur of Rt. 95 in NJ. I get people stopping in my driveway all the time completely confused and asking for directions. My first question is “where are you headed?” and the second is “where you coming from?”. People are going back to Queens, Rochester, Rhode Island, Quebec…I usually run in the house and get a piece of paper and scribble a quick but hopefully accurate diagram of the way for them to get back on track. I’ve thought about nailing a little box on my mailbox post containing directions and a sign on it saying, “Lost?, Take one”.


Leave a Reply

