Bowsprite

off topic: Home, Cafe Luz

Posted in Uncategorized by bowsprite on 2009/07/25

henri

What would Henry post? 400 years ago today, he was here…on the way to where I call home, and to where I shall return tomorrow, sunday!

Home! but, where is home?

Take a look at our HOME, as seen by the french photographer Yann Arthus-Bertrand:

¡ah! some countries cannot view this. The aerial photography is stunning. (Oh well, the tanker looks GOOD.) Try this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqxENMKaeCU

The film in its entirety is viewable in Europe on Youtube and is much discussed. Hope you can see it; it is 1hr 33mins long.

Quite a shock to see in this film the bare black mountaintops of what was once white. From where I am, I can see the glacier of Bondasca, happily replenished with a light dusting of snow so the village fountains may continue to flow with water for a bit longer. However, the neighboring glacier of the Cengalo is gone (a map from 1936 shows it was still there then).

In the meantime, as a souvenir from the alpine region, here is my favorite recipe for Cafe Luz, or Cafe Fertig. I got this from my friend and studiomate, Poul–a Dane–so, coffee with schnapps must be a Continental thing:

luz11. Put a coin on the bottom of a cup.

luz2

2. Cover the coin with HOT coffee until you cannot see the coin anymore.

luz3

3. Add schnapps until you can see the coin again. Or until you will overflow the cup. Add whipped cream on top.

Barbara: “If you use Turkish coffee, you might need a great deal of schnapps.”
…perhaps to no avail, for the coin will have disintegrated! Thank you, Barbara (environmentalist, activist, lawyer from Geneva), for telling me about “HOME”.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tugster said, on 2009/07/25 at 10:07

    bowsprite . . . i suspect you have the gift of feeling home where’eer you find yourself moment to moment, whether bondasca or bowery, drinking at cafe luz or pier 66. that is truly enviable. and this reader feels lucky to have your “homeness” filtered thru your eye, pen, brush, and persona. now if henry had shared this gift with you, we’d all be enricher by his experience. buon viaggio…

  2. tugster said, on 2009/07/26 at 01:43

    welcome back to your home. although it may look familiar, this is no longer the city you left. it has changed. and so the people, they’re no longer the same ones. and the river, yes, even the river is not that other hudson. welcome here. welcome to your new home. ;)))

    • Celeste Maia said, on 2009/07/26 at 11:20

      “Home”” was a stunning video, I had seen excerpts of it, but not the whole video. Gives me pause. Talking about glacier Bondasca that you could see from the window, and glacier Cengalo that has been gone since possibly 1935, reminds me of glacier Perito Moreno in Argentinian Patagonia, which I saw last January. I read that Perito Moreno is the only glacier that is not shrinking.
      Bon voyage back to the Hudson, home for now?
      What is home for me? I was born and grew up in Mozambique during colonial times, the Mozambique of today is not the same country. Fortunately for the Mozambicans! Since I left Mozambique I have moved countries and continents every 2 or 4 years. Each time I feel it in my bones it is time to move again.
      I loved the recipe for the Cafe Luz, will have to try it.

  3. O Docker said, on 2009/07/26 at 05:34

    Hope you enjoyed the Swiss chi’s.

  4. Mage Bailey said, on 2009/07/27 at 18:02

    So glad you were able to go and gift us with coffee to boot.

  5. Celeste Maia said, on 2009/07/28 at 14:21

    Came back to see if you had arrived safely.
    I have a confession to make, when I first read ” what would Henry post”, I immediately thought of the other Henry, the Navigator, the man from Sagres who started the adventure of the discoveries back in the XV century.

    • bowsprite said, on 2009/07/29 at 04:43

      Ah! I drew your Henry! I sketched the bowsprits of Sagres and Bounty (which has a woman), but did not put them up…yet(?).

      Celeste, I love your Rituals in Portugal posts, love the views of the sea. I cannot look at them without thinking of the majestic ships and ambitious voyages men made from there!

  6. tugster said, on 2009/07/28 at 15:36

    and then there’s king henri 4 of france, who underwrote champlain’s voyages. then there’s henry miller, henry kissinger, and my brother . . . etc. confusing name, this henry.

  7. Michael said, on 2009/08/03 at 14:48

    “add schnapps until you see the coin again.” Genius.


Leave a Reply

