Bowsprite: A New York Harbor Sketchbook

art show at greenport harbor brewing company, this saturday

Posted in Uncategorized by bowsprite on 2014/03/18

Hello, dear Friends!

You are cordially invited to my first solo show which will open this saturday at the very cool Greenport Harbor Brewing Company!

It is in a lovely harbor village on the North Fork of Long Island.

ghbc

“Working Girls of New York Harbor: A Sketchbook of Tugs, Dredges and Ships”
Greenport Harbor Brewing Company
opening reception – saturday, 22 march, 7:30 – 9:30pm
exhibit runs through 31 May

 Greenport Harbor Brewing Company was founded in 2008 by Rich Vandenburgh and John Liegey. The beer is wonderful. The brewery is on the ground floor, upstairs is the gallery and tasting room.

This 1896 carriage house was  the Star Hose Fire House for many years. Sometimes barrels of leftover grains sit outside the building, covered with myriad happy sparrows.
I met Ann Vandenburgh, who runs the gallery at the Brewery, with Rich and John at the Greenport Maritime Festival when we had booths next to each other; I was selling art, they were selling beer. The long lines were for the beer, but I was happy for the company. And Ann offered me this show back in September.

Our neighbor on the other side of our booths was WPKN, a non-commercial, non-profit, all volunteer community independent radio. Starting to broadcast in 1963, PKN (Purple Knights Network) was named for the sports team back when the University of Bridgeport had a sports team. And when the University existed. Neither do today; all that remains is this fiercely eclectic radio station. Thank you, Kevin and Dave for the shout-out for the show from your station.

Thanks, Ann, GHBC, and All! maybe see some of you out here east, sometime. It’s a lively, lovey village, and a deep water port!

artprints

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael said, on 2014/03/18 at 15:11

    Congratulations and good luck! Be careful about that jail.

  2. Reid Sprague said, on 2014/03/18 at 16:47

    Best, best of luck, Christina (you only need luck – the performance part is already very well covered!) I wish I could be there, and will be sending good vibes in my most powerful fashion, whatever that’s worth, all week. God bless your show! I know you’ll do well.

  3. mageb said, on 2014/03/18 at 18:50

    Simply wonderful stuff dear you. I would be there if I could. :)

  4. Rigmor said, on 2014/03/18 at 20:08

    I look so much forward to come and see the your drawings ! but I am still in California on the opening Day. Waves of love to you on the show on the harbour.

  5. Rembert said, on 2014/03/19 at 08:44

    A great place! And the very best to show pictures, that crave for viewing the sea. May spring air melt any snowdrift and the whole of New York celebrate with its working girls! I wish the greatest success.

  6. Bonnie K. Frogma said, on 2014/03/19 at 09:11

    Sebago Canoe Club LOOOOVES the Greenport Brewing Company!

  7. Fenn said, on 2014/03/19 at 19:34

    I wish Ohio weren’t so far away!

    • Philip Orton said, on 2014/03/20 at 04:34

      GH looks great, and wish I could be there! Let me know in advance anytime you go out and sometime we’ll plan a trip. This time, unfortunately, I have something booked this weekend I cannot miss.

  8. mageb said, on 2014/03/25 at 21:17

    OKOK, how did it go. I want a moment by moment tale.

  9. Barry Parker aka Captain Blurry aka freighboy1 said, on 2014/04/01 at 09:52

    Wow, just on here now looking for tugboat pix. Sorry I missed this, I was recovering from two weeks of conferencing but will certainly drive out to Greenport and see the show and drink some beer.
    Barry Parker aka Captain Blurry aka freighboy1

  10. Ken said, on 2014/04/02 at 08:56

    Congrats. I really like your drawings….but one of these days you should humor us non-saltie folks…:)

  11. Christine Van Lenten said, on 2014/04/08 at 08:23

    Christina dear, I wish I could see your show. I love the North Fork, I love beer, and I love your work!

    I forwarded your message below ‹ plus the link to your blog + the attached file, which I never tire of to friends who live in Cutchogue (and NYC). He’s a historian with an interest in maritime history. They sail. She’s an artist. Seems like a natural.

    xx ~Christine


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers

