Bowsprite: A New York Harbor Sketchbook

tea towel calendars

Posted in Uncategorized by bowsprite on 2012/10/23

Nautical Tattoo Tea Towel Calendars: for the meanings of the symbols, look here at the post written by Owen Burke, Brian Lam of The Scuttlefish.

2013 Ships of NYHarbor Tea Towel Calendar also available. Both designs have unhemmed, raw, pinked edges (zigzagged.)

Printed in North Carolina by Spoonflower. They started making decals, and I have many decals of some of my ship doodles printed on polyester and coated with a non-PVC plastic coating. Peel and stick up. The verdict: excellent quality! more on the decals to come!

Apologies to friends’ NYHarbor ships I have yet to draw! Lilac, J.J.Harvey (and all the beautiful old fireboats), DEP vessels, Swivel, TaurusI’m getting to you, promise!

What is a tea towel? well, i’d be honored to see one of mine in an engine room.  If you work on a vessel pictured, you get 25% off. Thank you!

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael said, on 2012/10/23 at 10:20

    I have a question…are these purely display art, or do they work as towels?

    • bowsprite said, on 2012/10/23 at 10:40

      The cotton they are printed on is not terribly heavy; so I think they are not for industrial dish drying duty. It is thinner than a typical dinner napkin.
      Friends say they do use them in the kitchen, and wash and dry and use them daily. So, they are utilitarian, and not just for hanging!

    • Baydog said, on 2012/10/23 at 16:54

      Michael, this may answer your question.

  2. John Wright said, on 2012/10/23 at 17:48

    Brillinat! I wasn’t aware of your etsy shop. Maybe I’ll give a tea towel to me from my wife at Christmas!

  3. Fenna Blue (@fennarama) said, on 2012/10/24 at 07:41

    This is like my dream come true! I’ve been wanting some of your work, and now I get to have it in the COOLEST way!!!!

  4. Mage Bailey said, on 2012/10/25 at 19:54

    Oh, yes, ships for my walls. I still have 2012 right here next to my nose for close haul inspections. There’s no life without my calender How much?.

  5. mageb said, on 2012/10/29 at 08:52

    I hope you are ok up there or moved on to dryer land. Thinking of you.

  6. Ken said, on 2012/10/29 at 10:23

    Keep yourself safe from the Hurricane.

  7. mageb said, on 2012/11/30 at 19:41

    Is the top calendar ready yet?

  8. Katarzyna said, on 2013/01/12 at 09:30

    Brilliant watercolors!!!

  9. [...] foto and the others of this unit you can enjoy thanks to bowsprite.  The red tug–Reliant–is about 20 years older than [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers

