Bowsprite: A New York Harbor Sketchbook

time lapse of new york harbor

Posted in Uncategorized by bowsprite on 2011/06/28

The great Control Geek, John Huntington, has made yet another incredible time lapse – of Upper Bay!

 

I love how the sailboats are so unpredictable, making loops, turns and spins. When the wind picks up, they get frenetic.

In contrast, the tugs and barges, plow through, steady and true to their course. It is like that in real time, but speeded up, it is very dramatic.

The tugmen sometimes call the sailboats “mosquitos” or “fleas,” but everything looks like waterbugs to me.

This video was shot on saturday when the high number of commuter ferries do not run. The gay pride sailboats go by at the end.

thanks, John!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tugster said, on 2011/06/29 at 05:46

    and then the clouds roil and twist like some alien life form, strangely steady in their own type of unpredictability…

  2. Baydog said, on 2011/06/29 at 08:28

    I’d love to watch that in real time, all day long. From what perch was that filmed, do you think?

  3. o docker said, on 2011/06/29 at 12:18

    Some time back, you mentioned you’d gotten a new camera and I noticed it was one of the few that has time-lapse built in.

    Why not have a go at this yourself?

  4. mookoo1 said, on 2011/06/29 at 13:01

    They do look like waterskeeters. Meanwhile that’s how the water looks to me in real time when windsurfing!

  5. Koops said, on 2011/06/29 at 14:01

    Hypnotic!

    I am not a sailing man at all, and generally have little interest in ships and harbour traffic, but this is amazing. I have happened upon your blog here by happy accident, and I have to say that Bowsprite is in fact my favourite web log. What a wonderful and fascinating site you have here! Thank you for posting these great pieces. I am completely taken in by your sketches and the historical notes of New York Harbor, and have shared this site with my family here in Melbourne – we all love it! I have not yet had the chance to travel to New York, but your work here provides a brilliant insight into the city, and your love of it is evident. I look forward to your next entry…

    Koops.

  6. Bonnie said, on 2011/06/29 at 23:17

    Fabulous!

  7. mageb said, on 2011/06/30 at 21:39

    Oh, both G and I were glued to the screen. Thank you.

  8. Jayne Sommer said, on 2011/08/08 at 15:01

    This blog was posted on July 5, 2011. Just the night before I was a lucky person who got to watch the Macy’s Fireworks from the lightship, the Frying Pan. I had already studied the ship’s history. Being a sailor and from NC, I have sailed by the Frying Pan Shoals off Cape Fear a number of times. (Maybe my interest is what got me aboard for the very special limited invitation…..that and a southern accent.) I have seen the fireworks many years, but this was the best vantage point ever!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 396 other followers

