Bowsprite: A New York Harbor Sketchbook

cool charts

I love charts & maps, and here are some of my favorite sites:

Wikimapia: I like labeling, and it’s maddening to find someone’s beaten me. Clicking on the site will often lead you to the current occupier’s website, history, and other information. I’m always impressed with how thorough and fastidious my anonymous co-mappers tend to be. Map mode is easier to read street names. However, I like the satellite mode as some folks like to outline and label their boats! I’m still looking for the surveyboat–she was not at her slip the day of class photo. Please label resp0nsibly (anyone can label)! Friends don’t let friends label drunk.

Sturgeon Bay‘s out, Katherine Walker‘s out on the beat…everybody’s out working.

Google Distance Calculator / DaftLogic: Disclaimer claims that all distances are estimations, but this is great for measuring crumbling piers (in satellite mode).

So with this handy website,  you can see that the distance between Atlantic Salt and the DSNY Marine Transfer Station is, as the seagull flies:

8miles/12.6km/6.8nm

and yet we insist on rumbling over potholed roads, congested bridges, and through backed up tunnels to truck it, schlepping the salt through three four boroughs:

16mi/26.5km

when we could it tie it on seagulls’ legs and fly it!! duh!!

Antipodes Map: could we dredge our way to china? not by going straight through! we’d end up due west of Tasmania!
If It Was My Home:  this is a new find. You only feel like playing with this one once. Thanks, BitterEnd & RedRightReturning!

© 1987 D.Jouris/Hold the Mustard. All rights reserved. The copyrighted image may not be reproduced, altered, or transmitted in any format

Hold the Mustard: You in Funk? at War? in Hell? They have very fun maps! Thank you, David, for permission. Take a peek, place an order!

Upside Down and Unusual Maps: the last time I felt this disoriented was when I was driving the survey boat south, away from one of the many basins in Jamaica Bay. I was so confused: the chartplotter was north up, the manhattan skyline seemed east of us, the channel seemed south, my boss was checking our data, and I was tearing along at 20 kts headed straight for a shoal 1’depth at low water.

And! the Source—NOAA: Ode to 12327, Hommage to 12334!

¡Hola, fellow ChartLover! I have BOTH charts and Katherine Walker on here por te!

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Elizabeth Wood said, on 2010/06/06 at 12:49

    I used the “If it were your home” map and moved the spill to Buffalo, NY. It took out one and a half Great Lakes! Really helps put the size of the spill in perspective to see it in your own corner of the world.

  2. tugster said, on 2010/06/06 at 13:05

    wow! i used your DSNY link to find Miss America at that pier! Miss America . . located… maybe chosen . . using a cool chart! alice oh! wonders what could be found using the “lovers” version of the “hold the mustard” map.

    • bowsprite said, on 2010/06/06 at 13:11

      whew. I thought Miss America was a new ferry I didn’t know about! with a hull big enough to sink a ship…

  3. Maritime Monday 217 said, on 2010/06/06 at 21:49

    [...] see also: cool charts » [...]

  4. jeff anzevino said, on 2010/06/06 at 21:52

    Two thumbs up from Geography Jeff. Lots of fun–except the scary oil spill map.

  5. Vagabonde said, on 2010/06/06 at 22:16

    When you see the spill on land like that you get a good idea of how big it is. I bet if you’d put the spill map on Europe, it would cover a couple or more countries, like Belgium and Holland. What a tragedy.

  6. Buck said, on 2010/06/07 at 11:27

    Oh, these links are magic! Thanks for the fun times I’m about to have :-)

  7. tugster said, on 2010/06/07 at 19:21

    Here’s Thomas Wolfe text on maps in the woids of some native soundalikes:
    “Oh,” he says, “I got a map.”
    “A map?” I says.
    “Sure,” he says, “I got a map dat tells me about all dese places. I take it wit me every time I come out heah,” he says.
    And Jesus! Wit dat, he pulls it out of his pocket, an’ so help me, but he’s got it – he’s tellin’ duh troot – a big map of duh whole goddam place with all duh different pahts mahked out. You know – Canarsie an’ East Noo Yawk an’ Flatbush, Bensonhoist, Sout’ Brooklyn, duh Heights, Bay Ridge, Greenpernt – duh whole goddam layout, he’s got it right deh on duh map.
    “You been to any of dose places?” I says.
    “Sure,” he says. “I been to most of ‘em. I was down in Red Hook just last night,” he says.
    “Jesus! Red Hook!” I says. “Whatcha do down deh?”
    “Oh,” he says, “nuttin’ much. I just walked aroun’. I went into a coupla places an’ had a drink,” he says, “but most of the time I just walked aroun’.”
    “Just walked aroun’?” I says.
    “Sure,” he says, “just lookin’ at t’ings, y’know.”
    “Where’d yuh go?” I asts him.
    “Oh,” he says, “I don’t know duh name of duh place, but I could find it on my map,” he says. “One time I was walkin’ across some big fields where deh ain’t no houses,” he says, “but I could see ships oveh deh all lighted up. Dey was loadin’. So I walks across duh fields,” he says, “to where duh ships are.”
    “Sure,” I says, “I know where you was. You was down to duh Erie Basin.”
    “Yeah,” he says. “I guess dat was it. Dey had some of dose big elevators an’ cranes an’ dey was loadin’ ships, an’ I could see some ships in drydock all lighted up, so I walks across duh fields to where dey are,” he says.
    “Den what did yuh do?” I says.”

    For da whole rest of the short short story, click heah: http://southerncrossreview.org/57/wolfe-brooklyn.htm

    • bowsprite said, on 2010/06/07 at 19:35

      vhf. a good source of accents, all mixed (relief mate of Pioneer, JW: we LOVE your Canarsie accent!)

  8. Mage Bailey said, on 2010/06/07 at 21:09

    Oh my…what a gift for a map person like me. There is no fun at all to be had without a map in hand, and you gift us with all these. T’anks. :)

  9. Michael said, on 2010/06/08 at 06:19

    Well this will kill an hour this morning!

  10. The ifitwasmyhome link really put the BP oil disaster in perspective. Nothing like seeing the size of the gush in an area that you can perceive.

  11. Ivy said, on 2010/06/10 at 17:06

    seen this at the moma?

    http://www.moma.org/visit/calendar/exhibitions/1031

    Rising Currents: Projects for New York’s Waterfront
    MoMA and P.S.1 Contemporary Art Center joined forces to address one of the most urgent challenges facing the nation’s largest city: sea-level rise resulting from global climate change. Though the national debate on infrastructure is currently focused on “shovel-ready” projects that will stimulate the economy, we now have an important opportunity to foster new research and fresh thinking about the use of New York City’s harbor and coastline. As in past economic recessions, construction has slowed dramatically in New York, and much of the city’s remarkable pool of architectural talent is available to focus on innovation.

    An architects-in-residence program at P.S.1 (November 16, 2009–January 8, 2010) brings together five interdisciplinary teams, including Architecture Research Office (ARO), to re-envision the coastlines of New York and New Jersey around New York Harbor and to imagine new ways to occupy the harbor itself with adaptive “soft” infrastructures that are sympathetic to the needs of a sound ecology. These creative solutions are intended to dramatically change our relationship to one of the city’s great open spaces.

    This installation presents the proposals developed during the architects-in-residence program, including a wide array of models, drawings, and analytical materials.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers

